应对HD的问题:
亨廷顿病以这种或那种方式影响整个家庭成员。无论是遗传了导致亨廷顿病的错误基因的人,还是家庭成员/照顾者,本节都有一些信息,可以使病人/照顾者提高生活质量。
照顾亨廷顿氏症患者是一项具有挑战性的任务。照顾者必须与各种专业人士互动:医生、护士、社会工作者、心理学家、遗传咨询师、物理治疗师、语言治疗师和其他专家。你越是了解HD的进展,以及它如何影响一个人的情绪、思维和运动,你就越能帮助病人。

对于照顾者:
照顾者在任何高清病人的生活中扮演着非常重要的角色。每一个患有HD的人都有特殊的需要,需要特别的关注。以下是一些要点,以帮助高清病人有一个有尊严的生活。

  • 尽可能地让对方参与进来。经常与他们交谈,以最大的耐心与他们打交道。
  • 给他们提供有营养的食物,并注意观察体重。体重迅速下降不是一个好兆头。
  • 定期看你的神经科医生/精神科医生,并严格遵守药物治疗。

照顾者在管理病人时也会承受很大的压力。请记住,HD患者的需求与正常人有很大的不同,这是好事。人们应该对这个人有同情心,并尝试把自己放在病人的位置上。大多数情况下,人们可能认为这是一种精神疾病或某种神经紊乱。当然,HD是两者的结合,因此它可以是严重的残疾,尽管不是所有的HD患者都有精神和运动障碍。在印度,人们对HD的认识严重不足。一般来说,对HD患者给予充分的照顾,将加强他们的信心,使他们能够积极面对社会情况。大规模的宣传活动将减少社会的耻辱感,这也是HDSI的目标之一。

HD的营养:
营养可以在神经保护方面发挥重要作用。直到最近,印度的痴呆症(大脑萎缩)的发病率非常低,因为我们的健康饮食习惯。新鲜的蔬菜、水果、谷物、我们食谱中的药用添加物,如姜黄、生姜、大蒜等,都是印度饮食中独有的,可能是退化性疾病发病率较低的原因。图尔西、印楝树的提取物在传统上很有价值。这些饮食措施不是专门针对HD的,而是为了保护一般的大脑。HD的许多症状可以干扰进食:自主运动控制能力下降,不自主运动,咀嚼和窒息问题,以及认知能力的变化,可能导致个人在用餐时分心和不知所措。人们倾向于快速进食,也倾向于不适合病人的食物类型。人们必须明白,应该改变食物的稠度类型(半固体较好)和进食方法(缓慢)。克服这些挑战,是维持HD患者良好营养的一个重要部分。随着疾病的发展和其他活动的限制,食物和饮食将变得更加重要。引入特殊的餐具、盘子和改良的座位,将帮助HD患者尽可能长时间地继续喂食自己。

当患HD的人不再可能通过口服饮食来满足他或她的营养需求时,可以考虑肠道喂养(管饲)。插管喂食可作为口服饮食的补充,在吞咽困难的情况下提供额外的液体,或作为营养支持的唯一手段。

高危人群和早期HD患者的饮食习惯:
根据针对普通人群的研究文献,以及其他常见的神经系统疾病,如痴呆症,有一些饮食因素被认为是 "大脑健康 "的。

健脑饮食中最重要的三个饮食因素是维生素B-12、抗氧化剂和抗炎剂。有许多食物可以提供这些物质,所以你可以在这些食物中挑选,把它们纳入你的饮食中。尝试在每一餐中至少包括一种。

维生素B12存在于动物性食物(肉类、奶类、鸡蛋、家禽等)中。B12可保持人体神经和血细胞的健康,并有助于制造DNA。研究表明,长期缺乏这种维生素可能会有大脑和脊髓的神经系统缺陷,尽管这些影响不是HD特有的。在缺乏的情况下,医生通常会建议服用维生素B12药片。

抗氧化剂保护你的细胞免受体内自由基(破坏性分子)的影响。在选择具有抗氧化特性的食物时,颜色(色素)很重要--颜色深而丰富的食物往往含有更多的抗氧化剂。选择各种水果和蔬菜以获得最大利益。这些营养物质对每个人都有好处,而不仅仅是患有HD的人。酸味的水果含有丰富的维生素C,这是一种重要的抗氧化剂。柑橘类水果,如柠檬、橙子、番石榴、阿姆拉是几个例子。需要更多的研究来确定HD患者是否需要特别增加抗氧化剂。

欧米伽3脂肪酸有助于减少整个身体的炎症。鱼是欧米伽3脂肪酸的丰富来源。它们还可以减少甘油三酯(并有血液稀释作用,因此在服用补充剂之前要向医生咨询)。其他健康脂肪包括橄榄油、坚果酱和鳄梨。

治疗 - 早期和中期HD:这是一个最好的阶段,可以采取行动,保持个人的功能,因为他们仍然可以接受治疗。

言语和语言 治疗:早期转介到言语和语言治疗是很重要的。在早期HD,一个人可能没有吞咽问题,但言语和语言治疗师仍可在评估个人的基线状态、细微变化和为未来提供信息方面发挥作用。

HD对个人的影响不同,因此需要定期评估,以帮助个人保持功能。在中期和晚期,喂食和吞咽问题有很大的重叠。随着疾病的发展,维持足够的营养和水分的挑战变得更大。点击这里寻找您所在地区的语言治疗师

后期阶段治疗:
当一个人不再能够通过口服摄取足够的营养物质来维持其健康体重时,通常会建议使用喂食管。理想的情况是,这应该在当事人仍然能够为他/她自己考虑利弊的时候决定,并在需要插管喂食之前提前做好准备。通常情况下,通过管子喂养液体和配方奶是满足个人卡路里需求的压力。

有几种管理管饲的方式:

  • 连续的: 每天二十四小时运行,每天都在运行
  • 间歇性/循环性: 只在一天中的部分时间内运行(例如骑车过夜或运行12小时)。
  • Bolus: 通过注射器或重力(不使用泵的滴注)给药,通常在用餐时给药。
  • 补充: 这可以是栓塞式或间歇式--如果不能吃到足够的热量,这可能是在吃饭之外给予的(但可以通过上述任何一种方法进行)。

瑜伽和冥想的重要性:

与依靠药物治疗的现代医学不同,瑜伽和冥想是保持一个人的身体和心灵和谐的传统方法,可以使生活质量提高。

有几种瑜伽和冥想,目前还没有资料显示哪种是对HD最好的。但正念练习有助于病人保持注意力(在HD中受损),体位法可能有助于身体所有系统的功能,如消化系统,呼吸系统和整体代谢,在HD中受损。

zh_CNChinese

登录

跳至内容

Coping up with HD:
HD impacts entire family members one way or the other. Whether it is a person who has inherited the faulty gene that causes Huntington’s disease or a family member/caregiver, this section has information that will enable the patients/caregivers to improve their quality of life.
Caring for a person with Huntington’s disease is a challenging task. Caregivers have to interact with a variety of professionals: doctors, nurses, social workers, psychologists, Genetic counsellors, physiotherapists, speech therapists and other specialists. The better you understand how HD progresses and how it affects a person’s mood, thinking and movement, the better you can help the patient.

For Caregivers:
Caregivers play a very crucial role in any HD patient’s life. Every HD affected person have special needs and require special attention. Below are some points to help an HD patient to have a dignified.

  • Keep the person as engaged as possible. Talk to them frequently, deal with them with the highest patience.
  • Give them nutritious food and keep a watch on weight. Rapid weight loss is not a good sign.
  • See your neurologist/psychiatrist on a regular basis and follow the medication strictly.

Caregivers too undergo a lot of stress while managing the affected person. It is always good to remember that an HD patient’s needs are very different than that of a normal person. One should have empathy towards the person and try to put yourself in the patient’s shoes. Most often people may consider it a mental illness or some sort of nervous disorder. Of course, HD is a combination of both and hence It can be severely disabling though not all patients with HD have both psychiatric and movement disorder. In India, there is a huge lack of awareness regarding HD. In general, showing adequate care to HD affected person will reinforce confidence in them to be active and to face social situations. A massive awareness campaign will reduce the social stigma and it is one of the goals of HDSI.

Nutrition for HD:
Nutrition can play a major role in neuroprotection. India until recently has a very low incidence of dementia disease (where brain shrinks) for our healthy diet habits. Fresh vegetables, fruits, grains, medicinal add-ons in our recipes like turmeric, ginger, garlic etc. are unique to Indian diet probably the reason for the lesser incidence of degenerative diseases. Tulsi, neem extracts are valued traditionally. These dietary measures are not specific to HD but to protect the brain in general. Many symptoms of HD can interfere with eating: reduced voluntary motor control, involuntary movements, problems with chewing and choking, as well as changes to cognition that may cause the individual to become distracted and overwhelmed by mealtime activity. People tend to eat fast and also the types of food that do not suit the patient. One has to understand that one should change the type of consistency of the food (semi-solid is better) and the method of eating (slow). Overcoming these challenges is an important part of maintaining good nutrition for the person with HD. As the disease progresses and other activities become limited, food and eating will take on even greater importance. The introduction of special utensils, dishes and modified seating, will help the person with HD continue to feed themselves as long as possible.

When it is no longer possible for the person with HD to meet his or her nutritional needs with an oral diet, enteral feedings (tube feeding) may be considered. Tube feedings may be given as a supplement to an oral diet, to provide extra fluids in case of swallowing difficulty, or as a sole means of nutritional support.

Food habits for at Risk individuals & Early Stage HD patients:
Based on research literature for the general population, and other common neurological conditions, such as dementia, there are some dietary factors considered to be “brain healthy”.

Three of the most important dietary factors in a brain-healthy diet are vitamin B-12, anti-oxidants and anti-inflammatory agents. There are many foods that provide these substances, so you can take your pick among these foods to incorporate them into your diet. Try to include at least one at every meal.

Vitamin B12 is found in animal foods (meat, dairy, eggs, poultry, etc.). B12 keeps the body’s nerve and blood cells healthy and helps make DNA. Studies have shown that prolonged deficiency of this vitamin may have neurological defects of the brain and spinal cord, although these effects are not specific to HD. Vitamin B12 pills are usually recommended by a doctor in case of deficiency.

Antioxidants protect your cells from free radicals (damaging molecules) in the body. Colour (pigment) is important when choosing foods with antioxidant properties – foods with deep, rich colour tend to be higher in antioxidants. Choose a variety of fruits and vegetables to get the most benefit. These nutrients are good for everyone, not just someone with HD. Fruits which are sour are rich in Vitamin C an important antioxidant. Citrus fruits like lemon, orange, guava, Amla are few examples. More research is required to determine whether there is a specific increase in antioxidants needed for people with HD

Omega 3 fatty acids are helpful in reducing inflammation throughout the body. Fish is a rich source of Omega 3 fatty acids. They also can reduce triglycerides (and have a blood-thinning effect so check with your doctor before taking a supplement). Other healthy fats include olive oil, nut butter, and avocados.

Therapy – Early and Mid-stage HD: This is the best phase to act and keep the individual’s functional as they are still amenable to therapies

Speech & Language Therapy: Early referral to speech and language therapy is important. In early-stage HD, a person may have no issues swallowing, but speech and language therapists may still have a role in evaluating an individual’s baseline state, subtle changes and providing information for the future.

HD affects individuals differently, so regular assessment is required to help an individual maintain function. There is significant overlap in feeding and swallowing issues in the mid and late stages. As the disease progresses the challenge of maintaining adequate nutrition and hydration becomes greater. Click here to find a speech therapist in your area

Later Stage Therapy:
Feeding tubes are usually recommended when a person is no longer able to take in adequate amounts of nutrients by mouth to maintain their weight at a healthy point. Ideally, this should be decided while the person is still able to consider the pros and cons for him/herself, and well in advance of the need for tube feeding. Often, having liquids and formula feedings via tube the pressure of meeting an individual’s calorie needs.

There are several ways tube feeding is administered:

  • Continuous: Running twenty-four hours a day, every day
  • Intermittent / Cycled: Running only part of the day (cycled overnight or running for 12 hours for example)
  • Bolus: Bolus is given either via syringe or gravity (drip without a pump) — at mealtimes typically
  • Supplemental: This could be bolus or intermittent — this might be given in addition to eating if unable to eat adequate calories (but it could be done by any of the above methods)

Importance of Yoga and Meditation:

Unlike the modern medicine which relies on pharmacological therapy with tangible, consistent, immediate results, yoga and meditation are the traditional ways of keeping one’s body, mind in harmony which enables a better quality of life.

There are several kinds of yoga and meditation and there is no information on which is the best in HD. But mindfulness practices help the patient to keep attention (which is impaired in HD) and Asanas may help all the systems of the body to function like Digestive system, Respiratory system, and the overall metabolism which is impaired in HD.