亨廷顿病(HD)是一种罕见的遗传性神经变性疾病,影响全世界所有种族的人。该病以美国长岛的医生乔治-亨廷顿命名,他在1872年首次发表了关于 "遗传性舞蹈症 "的描述。 这是由于他的一篇题为论疳积,该病症被称为亨廷顿舞蹈症。舞蹈症这个词在希腊语中是 "舞蹈 "的意思,指的是在许多HD患者身上出现的不自主运动。 由于舞蹈症不是唯一的症状,这种疾病在后来被称为亨廷顿氏病。

长期以来,人们对HD知之甚少,也没有发表过相关文章。然而,在过去的30年里,我们已经学到了很多关于HD的原因和影响,以及控制其症状的疗法和技术。导致HD的基因在1993年被发现,从那时起,已经取得了重要的科学进展。 到目前为止,还没有药物可以减缓或阻止亨廷顿氏症的发展,但科学家们每天都在接近找到一种改变疾病的治疗方法。

HD导致脑细胞逐渐退化,进而导致身体、认知和情感症状,通常在35至55岁之间变得明显,但也可能更早出现(青少年发病的HD)或更晚出现(晚发的HD)。   

在大多数情况下,受HD影响的人可以在第一个症状出现后的几年内保持独立。知识渊博的医生可以开出治疗方法,以尽量减少影响。专职医疗人员,如社会工作者、职业和物理治疗师、语言治疗师和营养师,都可以在最大限度地提高能力和延长独立性方面发挥有益作用。

遗传学

亨廷顿氏症是一种遗传性疾病。 患有亨廷顿病的父母的每个孩子都有50%的遗传机会。 亨廷顿病发生在所有种族中。 男性和女性的风险是一样的。 如果HD基因的携带者活得足够长,他们最终会发展成这种疾病。

在全球范围内,每10万人口中估计有3.6至5.7人患有HD。 

症状

HD的症状可以因人而异,甚至在兄弟姐妹之间也有很大差异。症状不以任何特定顺序出现。在疾病的过程中,一些症状可能比其他症状更主要。对一些人来说,不自主运动可能更占优势,甚至在早期阶段,而对另一些人来说,情绪和行为障碍更令人担忧,而且往往未被诊断出来。

    轻微的智力变化往往是认知障碍的第一个迹象。 这可能导致应对新情况或执行常规任务的能力下降。以下是最常见的认知障碍症状。

    • 难以组织、确定优先次序或集中精力完成任务
    • 缺乏灵活性或倾向于拘泥于某种思想、行为或行动
    • 缺乏冲动控制,可能导致爆发、不假思索的行为和性乱。
    • 对自己的行为和能力缺乏认识
    • 处理思想或寻找词语时速度缓慢
    • 学习新信息有困难

    身体症状可包括不自主运动和自主运动的损害。不自主运动通常在HD的中期阶段进行,但在后期阶段随着僵硬程度的增加而下降。 下面列举了一些症状。

    • 不自主的抽搐或扭动动作(舞蹈症)。
    • 肌肉问题,如僵硬或肌肉挛缩
    • 缓慢或异常的眼球运动
    • 步态、姿势和平衡能力受损
    • 言语或吞咽的物理产生有困难

    与HD相关的最常见的情绪/心理障碍是抑郁症。有些人可以经历数月甚至数年的抑郁,才被认为是HD的早期症状。 下面列出了一些其他的情绪症状。

    • 烦躁、悲伤或冷漠的感觉
    • 社会退缩
    • 失眠
    • 疲劳和失去能量
    • 经常想到死亡、死亡或自杀

    疾病进展

    根据Ira Shoulson博士的说法,HD的进展可分为五个阶段,在诊断后是灵活的。

    患有HD的人通常在15至20年后死亡。 症状首次出现.死亡的原因不是疾病本身,而是并发症,如肺炎、心力衰竭或因身体虚弱而产生的感染。

    高清与家庭

    HD影响整个家庭。随着病情的发展,病人的角色逐渐改变。伴侣/配偶往往要承担越来越多的家务、决策和养育子女的责任,并经常承担主要照顾者的角色。 这需要付出身体、情感和经济上的代价。

    儿童和青少年必须面对与患病的母亲或父亲生活在一起,他们的行为可能不稳定。他们甚至可能被要求参与父母的护理工作。对于父母来说,告诉孩子有关HD的情况可能会带来困难。是否应该告诉孩子有关HD的情况?如果是这样,在什么年龄?孩子什么时候才够大,可以接受有患HD风险的想法?

    没有简单的答案,特别是由于儿童的成熟度不同,每个家庭的情况也不同。一般来说,尽可能开放而不危言耸听,并一点一点地传达事实,是一个好主意。这样一来,孩子就可以逐渐认识到HD,而不是突然被信息所淹没。

    亨廷顿病青年组织(HDYO),致力于帮助年轻人和他们的父母了解HD,并学会生活和应对它。

    zh_CNChinese

Huntington´s Disease (HD) is a rare, hereditary, neurodegenerative illness that affects people of all races worldwide. The disease was named after Dr. George Huntington, a physician from Long Island, United States of America, who first published a description of “hereditary chorea” in 1872.  It was due to his essay, entitled On Chorea, that the disorder became known as Huntington´s Chorea. The term chorea is the Greek word for “dance” and refers to the involuntary movements which are seen in many individuals with HD. Since Chorea is not the only symptom, the disorder has in later years been called Huntington´s Disease.

For a long time, little was known or published about HD. In the last 30 years, however, we have learnt a lot about the cause of HD and its effects, as well as the therapies and techniques for managing its symptoms. The gene that causes HD was discovered in 1993 and since then important scientific advances have been made.  To date, there are no drugs to slow or stop the progression of Huntington’s Disease, but scientists are getting closer each day to finding a disease modifying treatment.

HD causes gradual degeneration of brain cells which in turn can result in physical, cognitive and emotional symptoms, which typically become apparent between the ages of 35 and 55, but can also appear much earlier (Juvenile-Onset HD) or later (late onset HD).   

In most cases, individuals affected by HD can maintain their independence for several years after the first symptoms appear. A knowledgeable physician can prescribe treatment to minimize the impact. Allied health professionals, such as social workers, occupational and physical therapists, speech therapists and nutritionists, can all play a useful role in maximizing abilities and prolonging independence.

Genetics

Huntington´s Disease is a hereditary disorder.  Each child of a parent who has HD has a 50% chance of inheriting it.  HD occurs in all races.  Males and females are equally at risk.  Carriers of the HD gene will eventually develop the disease should they live long enough.

Globally, there is estimated to be between 3.6 and 5.7 people with HD for every 100,000 of population. 

Symptoms

HD symptoms can vary significantly from person to person, even among siblings. Symptoms don’t appear in any specific order. Over the course of the disease, some symptoms may be more dominant than others. For some, involuntary movements may be more dominant, even in the early stages, while for others emotional and behavioural disturbances are more worrying, and often go undiagnosed.

    Slight intellectual changes are often the first signs of cognitive disturbance.  These can lead to the reduced ability to cope with new situations or perform routine tasks. Below are the most common cognitive HD symptoms:

    • Difficulty organizing, prioritizing or focusing on tasks
    • Lack of flexibility or the tendency to get stuck on a thought, behaviour or action
    • Lack of impulse control that can result in outbursts, acting without thinking and sexual promiscuity
    • Lack of awareness of one’s own behaviours and abilities
    • Slowness in processing thoughts or finding words
    • Difficulty in learning new information

    Physical symptoms can include involuntary movements and the impairment of voluntary movements. Involuntary movements typically progress through the middle stages of HD but decline as rigidity increases in the later stages.  Listed below are some of the symptoms:

    • Involuntary jerking or writhing movements (chorea)
    • Muscle problems, such as rigidity or muscle contracture
    • Slow or abnormal eye movements
    • Impaired gait, posture and balance
    • Difficulty with the physical production of speech or swallowing

    According to the Mayo Clinic, impairment in voluntary movements — rather than the involuntary movements — may have a greater impact on a person’s ability to work, perform daily activities, communicate and remain independent. In addition to the above symptoms, weight loss is common in people with Huntington’s Disease, especially as the disease progresses.

    The most common emotional/psychological disturbance associated with HD is depression. Some people can experience depression for months or even years before it is recognised as an early symptom of HD.  Listed below are some of the other emotional symptoms:

    • Feelings of irritability, sadness or apathy
    • Social withdrawal
    • Insomnia
    • Fatigue and loss of energy
    • Frequent thoughts of death, dying or suicide

    Disease Progression

    According to Dr. Ira Shoulson, the progress of HD can be divided into five stages that are flexible after diagnosis:

    People with HD usually die about 15 to 20 years after their symptoms first appear. The cause of death is not the disease itself but complications such as pneumonia, heart failure or infection developing from the body’s weakened condition.

    HD and the Family

    HD impacts the entire family. As it progresses, the role of the patient gradually changes. The partner/spouse often has to assume more and more responsibility for housekeeping, decision-making and parenting and often assumes the role of primary care giver as well.  It takes a physical, emotional and financial toll.

    Children and adolescents must face living with a mother or father who is ill and whose behaviour may be erratic. They may even be asked to participate in the parent’s care. For parents, telling children about HD can pose difficulties. Should a child be told about HD? If so, at what age? When is a child old enough to cope with the idea of being at risk for HD?

    There are no easy answers, particularly since children mature differently and each family situation is different. Generally, it is a good idea to be as open as possible without being alarmist, and to convey the facts bit by bit. This way, a child can develop a gradual awareness of HD rather than being suddenly overwhelmed by information.

    The Huntington Disease Youth Organization (HDYO), is dedicated to helping young people and their parents learn about HD and learn to live and cope with it.

    en_USEnglish